News Photo
Men's Cross Country - Sun, Oct. 16, 2016

KENOSHA, Wis. - Paced by a fourth-place finish by Jorge Pichardo, the Viterbo University men's cross country team picked up their first-ever Wisconsin Private College Championship title at the Wayne E. Dannehl National Cross Country Course in Kenosha.

In a battle of teams from the state's private colleges, the V-Hawks defeated the hosts from Carthage by nine points and the defending champions from Wisconsin Lutheran by fourteen points to take the title in the ten team field.

"It was a positive race for the men," head coach John Metelko said. "They work well together and proved it down the stretch. Our team stayed patient and worked to move up throughout the race. The second half of the race, our top four finishers all made passes through the field".

It was a collective team effort, the first four V-Hawk scorers finished in the top 11. The V-Hawks were led by sophomore Pichardo who traversed the 8,000 meter course in 28:08 to claim fourth place in the sixty-eight runner field. Freshmen Justin Paschall closed the race quickly and finished sixth in 28:25. David Alvarado and William Jeffries finished tenth and eleventh overall in 29:05 and 29:07. Sophomore Zeb Peterson closed Viterbo's scoring with a 26th place finish in 30:34.

Saturday's meet title is the first for the Viterbo harriers since winning the Martin Luther College Invite in 2013. Saturday's first place finish was due in large part due to continued improvement from returners Pichardo, Alvarado, Jeffries, and Peterson. All four improved on their finishes from the 2015 Wisconsin Private Colleges Championship. Pichardo and Alvarado improved their placings by nine, Jeffries by 12, and Peterson by 13 positions.

The V-Hawk runners hit the course again on Saturday, October 22nd at the Seminole Valley Stampede in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Overall Team Results:

Men: 1. Viterbo (53 points), 2. Carthage (62), 3. Beloit (64), 4. Wisconsin Lutheran (67), 5. Ripon (121), 6. Northland (150), 7. Maranatha Baptist (171)  -. Edgewood (incomplete), -. Lakeland (incomplete), -. Marian (incomplete)

Men (out of 68 runners, all times for 8-K)

4. Jorge Pichardo 28:08
6. Justin Paschall 28:25
10. David Alvarado 29:05
11. William Jeffries 29:07
26. Zeb Peterson 30:34
42. Luke Gonzalez-Ruiz 31:54