News Photo
Cross Country - Mon, Nov. 21, 2016

November 21, 2016


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Seven North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) runners were named to 2016 Daktronics-NAIA Cross Country Scholar Athlete honor, announced by the NAIA national office Friday a day prior to the NAIA Cross Country Championships meet in Elsah, Ill.

They are Victoria Sopko and Michael Carson of Dakota State (S.D.); Rachel Heuchert and Donavan Moser of Jamestown (N.D.); Alex Askerooth of Valley City State (N.D.) and Rachel Turi and Heidi Flanders of Viterbo (Wis.).

In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status to qualify for this honor.

There were a total of 335 women's and 222 men's runners that were listed on the 2015 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athlete award

The NAIA Cross Country National Championships ended the cross country season on Nov. 19 at North Farms.

Dickinson State (N.D.) women's cross country team placed 29th with 797 points at the national 5K race.  Ashley Kraenzel of the Blue Hawks was the top NSAA runner with a 145th-place finish in 19 minutes, 10 seconds.

In the men's 8K race, Dickinson State finished 31st overall as a team with 833 points.  Matthew Young of Jamestown was the top NSAA runner with a 93rd-place finish in 25 minutes, 57 seconds.

The NAIA Cross Country national meet officially concludes the cross country season.

Nick Huntimer, North Star Athletic Association Sports Information Director